The Erasmus programme is part of the Lifelong Learning Programme (2007-2013) run by the European Union (EU), which consists of a range of educational sub-programmes and activities (Comenius, Erasmus, Leonardo da Vinci, Grundtvig). Frederick University Cyprus participates in the Erasmus programme, which seeks to enhance the quality and reinforce the European dimension of higher education. By encouraging transnational cooperation between universities, boosting European mobility, and improving the transparency and full academic recognition of studies and qualifications throughout the Union, the programme offers European citizens a unique opportunity to study, work, teach or to be trained in any European Union member state or candidate country with a study grant. Also, the Erasmus program offers the opportunity to HEI to establish contacts with prospective partner institutions with a view to establishing Erasmus network, projects and intensive programs (brings together students and teaching staff from HEI in a short programme of study).